Words

“Words kill, words give life;  they’re either poison or fruit–you choose”  Proverbs 18:21 (The Message)

How often this applies.  Every day we wake up with the choice to seize the day or retreat inside our personal dungeons of self.  The power of the tongue is stronger than almost any force in existence.  If our heart is not in the right place,irreparable damage can be done.

The importance of words (and knowledge of it) is vital for survival.  I have had numerous occasions where I was having a terrible day and somebody said something that brought me out of myself (and self-pity) and into focusing on others.  I have also had more than a few instances where the opposite has taken place, and I was left with a not so good feeling.

As I further examine my motivations– I realize that what comes out of me is exactly what I choose to put in.  Whether it be good or bad–it always comes out.  I find that when I look past my situations, miraculously the solution appears.  Getting out of “me mode” allows real and significant change.  The change that is always appreciated, even though the package may be presented as a big, impossible mess.  Later on, I realize that impossibly messy package was a huge blessing.  I heard the other day that “A blessing is anything that pushes, drags or claws it’s way in to make you a better person.”  I love this analogy because I generally think of blessings as warm fuzzies.  This description pertains to retrospect–and the only way to get it is to walk through it (sometimes kicking and screaming).  The point is–we will always come out the other side( in one way or another) truly changed from the inside out.

I look forward to the day that I do more good than harm to myself and anyone else.  It’s a slow process, but it teaches patience, perseverance and honesty.  I could go on and on about what I learn on a daily basis–but that will be saved for many more blogs to come.  I guess all of this ties in with the importance of words.  All I know right now is that I want to say a lot of positive and wonderful words to uplift others, and a lot less negative ones.  We are all in this together and I want to encourage instead of discourage.  The only way I can do this effectively is for my heart to be in the right place.  Otherwise, it will just come off as fake.

Leave a Reply

