Contentment

It’s taken me a long time to grasp this concept.  Actually, I didn’t think it really existed.

It isn’t that life has necessarily gotten any better or worse–it’s more about perception.  Learning how to deal with situations, no matter how big or small, is one of the key elements of being content.  Sometimes I wonder why these lessons were not learned earlier, but I’m glad that at least I am processing them now instead of never.

I never thought that I could sit without wondering what I should be doing next.  Recently I have taken up meditation/breathing exercises and am actually enjoying it!  Yoga is being incorporated into my routine along with healthier eating habits.  I figure that if I have an addictive personality, I would rather fill it with beneficial things.

The other day I was having coffee with a friend and we were talking about a difficult situation I am going through.  I have some major resentment against someone right now and I can’t figure out how to shake it.  To make a long story short–I have to let go of the “justifiable anger” that I have with this person.  The only person that it hurts in the long run is me.  This person couldn’t care less about me.  The true contentment comes from acknowledging that I am powerless over other people’s decisions.  I have to take care of it on my end–not mope about this other persons “perceived wrong”.  My friend gave me objective clarity that I was not able to see for myself.  I am currently working on being at peace with this issue, so as not to affect my life negatively.

I’m content with whatever situation (and outcome) occurs.  I believe everything to happen as a lesson, and hopefully I will learn from this big one.  It isn’t about being right or getting even.  It’s about growing as a person and working towards becoming whole.

3 Responses to “Contentment”

  1. I am definitely with and agree with you. I think that everything we have gone through, or will ever go through, has a significant lesson. Even the ordeals that are completely hard on us, there is a very important lesson we have to learn. Thanks for sharing your wisdom.

  2. If you want to change how other people treat you, you first have to change how you treat yourself. They will either get with the new you, or exit your life and leave room for people who are healthier to come in.

Leave a Reply

