Gratitude

 

I remember the first time I read Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. I was sitting in my creative writing class in college, completely inspired while reading “Letter From Birmingham Jail“.  I knew about him before, but as I read, he allowed me inside to understand where he was coming from.  While confined in jail, he was still extremely passionate about his cause and stood firm on his belief with an openness I deeply admire.  Today, I am grateful for his life and influence.

Every morning I wake up and force myself to focus on the positive rather than the negative.  This is not innate for me.  I’m pre-wired to look at the glass half empty.  I’m not fond of this character defect, but it can be used for good.  As of today, I have a roof over my head, food on the table and a loving family.  When I am able to focus on the solution, the problem disappears.  I’m thankful that I have the insatiable desire to write.  It truly is my peace.  Once I look at my thoughts on paper (or computer), a bit more organization occurs inside with those crazy voices.  I’m starting to appreciate the way I’m wired.

My biggest mission right now is to “just be”.  Seems so simple, but not easy.  I have  “Esse Quam Videri” (to be, rather than to appear) tattooed on my wrist, and I also have “We must be the change we wish to see in the world” from Ghandi, on my living room wall.  This business of “being” is extremely important if I want to stay genuine and authentic in my daily life.  Getting down to the root and the basis of all is where acceptance can truly be lived.

All of this is interconnected with gratitude.  Each situation and problem I have faced has shaped and prepared me to be better equipped in the future.  If I don’t learn from these lessons, I will continue to revisit the same issue over and over.  Doesn’t sound like something I want to do. So, today and only today, I will live as though it is my last day on earth.  I’m not promised anything more.  I will make the best of it.

One Response to “Gratitude”

  1. It is a day to be grateful, to MLK Jr. and all those visionaries who died demanding justice and compassion and basic human decency in the face of hatred and violence. We have a legacy of love and activism to live up to, and I’m proud to say that you are my friend as you consistently strive so earnestly to do all you can to make the world a better place.

Leave a Reply

