One Day At A Time.

 

Reflection is an amazing attribute.  But, new days are even more magical.

Yesterday was tough but today I woke up with the determination and willingness to not dwell on it.  I have the support of friends and family to get me through myself.  Thinking back to the reactions that I used to have makes me cringe–but now I am able to use those memories to relate to others.  An honest approach is all we can hope for.  Fearless honesty is the only way to work it.

As I listen to people share their stories, I am reminded that I am far from being alone.  There is a fine line between solitude and isolation.  For the past month, I have been isolating even though many of people have surrounded me.  Nothing feels worse than being in a room full of people and feeling completely alone.  But today is a new day.  I  can’t change the past–I can only deal with the here and now.

I’m so grateful for the peace that I feel.  Not too long ago, I would fake it.  I was pretty good at putting on a front.  But in the end–the only person I was fooling was myself.  My life was like a chameleon.  Whatever I thought somebody would want me to be, is what I would fabricate.  It was completely exhausting, being everything to everyone.  Not that I did that great of a job at it–but I sure did it to keep up appearances.

I’ve had some hard blows recently.  Today, I choose to look at the picture as a whole and push forward regardless of how I feel.  Feelings are NOT facts.  As soon as that truly permeates my heart, clarity and acceptance appears.  I’m thankful I’m alive to live this day and I have no fear of what is to come.  I know that God will take care of me no matter what and I’m so thankful that I am His child.

2 Responses to “One Day At A Time.”

Leave a Reply

