Goodbye

When I wrote this, I didn’t realize that I would ever get to say hello again.

Usually my MO was to run from conflict–and then journal about it to pacify the emotion.

I was reading some of my old stuff today and had to smirk at how everything is starting to come full circle.  Most of my goodbyes have not been permanent, and for that I am quite thankful.  Who I was back then was a completely different person–but in essence, completely the same.

I’m glad I always documented feelings, It makes reality more clear now.  I’m equally glad that in the past couple of weeks–these goodbyes I wrote about a decade ago were ended with a simple hello.

 

“The first day of the rest of our lives–

Is it goodbye

Or simply hello

 

Nothing is certain yet

Except for the beat of my uncertain heart

 

Memories forgotten

And memories unfortunately remembered

Pushes me to make it all better

 

Gratitude goes out to the forces

That establish my feelings

Singing the song we try so hard to forget

And striving to be thankful for all that we are

 

Sometimes I laugh

Sometimes I cry

But it all boils down

To the equation of you

 

Smile when you think of me

Because I will do the same

 

Dare to dream the impossible

I will dare to love unconditionally

We will evolve into the people

That we wanted to be at 16 years old

 

2 Responses to “Goodbye”

  1. we all have that moments,
    well done.
    Glad to see you post after this one.
    Happy Tuesday.

  2. Greetings, How are you?
    It is a thrill to land on your magical poetry land today! 🙂 😉
    Jingle Poetry has magic, wonders, and miracles theme going on this week,
    Hope to see your contribution.
    Old poems, or poems unrelated to our theme are welcome.
    We treasure your support ! Come on in soon.
    Happy Thanksgiving,
    u r cool!
    xxx

Leave a Reply

