Family Matters

Sometimes my water seems just as thick as blood.

A good friend of mine has always said “my friends are the family that I get to choose.”

Recently, I have undergone a major reconciliation phase–for lack of a better description.

What I have encountered is an indescribable amount grace, acceptance and unconditional love from water and blood.

In no way am I discrediting family–but for me–my family that I chose (or rather, graciously chose me), have been the model of family structure.

Gracious when I make mistakes, and quick to forgive me.

Acceptance of my character defects–

And love that surpasses knowledge of why.

As the years go by, I have often tried to wrap my heart around the concept of grace–particularly in reference to God’s.  As defined:

“Grace-

A disposition to be generous or helpful; goodwill.
b. Mercy; clemency.
5. A favor rendered by one who need not do so; indulgence.
6. A temporary immunity or exemption; a reprieve.
a. Divine love and protection bestowed freely on people.”
To me, it’s beyond human comprehension–a matter of spiritual proportions.
It has nothing to do with the thickness of a certain element–it has to do with the condition of the heart.
In essence–I love my friends as if they are family.  Because they are.
The real challenge is to love my family as if they were friends.
That is where the journey of grace truly begins.
Leave a Reply

