Love

Seems fitting for a first entry, right?

It’s what I constantly come back to–and the origination of all.

Presently, I am concentrating on using it as a verb, rather than a noun. One of my most vivid memories of love was conveyed in a poem I wrote for my high-school boyfriend. It was actually the first thing I ever had published. The only reason I even knew that it had made it to print is because my Grandpa called me and said that he had read my poem “Unfiltered Love” in the Tallahassee Democrat. He didn’t even know that I wrote. Indulge me as I reminisce:

Unfiltered Love

February 5, 2001

“Hold me.

Hold me close, so that I can’t escape

And that you don’t want me to

Love.

We need to love as though we have never been hurt

Speak to me

Talk to me like I am yourself

The words you can arrange only in your soul,

Let them seep out and penetrate mine.

Treat me like the best friend you had as a child

Carefree and playful

Unaware of the evil that lurks outside of the playground

Don’t just listen to me when I profess my love,

Hear me.

I feel much more that words can express

Listen to my heart,

Not my words

Words are just modifications of an emotion

If one were able to truly speak an emotion,

The intensity would be overwhelming.

Laugh.

Laugh with me at us.

Our relationship would be enough to knock a psychopath to sanity

But the question remains–

Would I change it?

Of course not!

Do not the best of friends stick by each other–

Even when times are hard?

Certain is my love

And filled is my heart with it

Hold me

Love me

Speak to me

Laugh with me

Share these things with me

Not out of necessity

Rather, out of willingness.” -Shea

3 Responses to “Love”

  1. Shea,

    So fitting that you’d open w/ this wonderful poem and thoughts of your grandfather. Yes, it’s all about love for you–if only the rest of the world followed your lead.

    I love you,

    Jenny

  2. I think its beautiful and very fitting. If we could really do that, communicate our feelings to each other as a pure emotion, this world would be a much different place.
    Love you. Keep growing.
    Tee

Leave a Reply

